Month in Review: August 2018

From a new initiative sure to transform our regional economy, to advice on getting on the next season of Shark Tank (well, sort of), we are highlighting some of the standout articles from August on Mind Your Business.

Our contributors are experts in their fields and we love showcasing their sharpness. Here are some of the most memorable moments from August.

Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Ins and outs of drug testing

    Pre-Check

    Here’s a detailed look at the three common employee drug-testing policies, what you need to know about them and how they might impact your workplace. Read on and get it all straight before finding yourself in a tricky situation.

    Marketing R&R

    Forget “rest and relaxation”—we’re talking repeat and referral business in this marketing article geared toward helping your small business grow after making that initial sale. Get working on your game plan to earning repeat and referral business.

    Blockchain in Blockland

    You may have never heard about it before this month, but we talked a lot in August about blockchain technology. The governor recently signed cybersecurity legislation that included language regarding blockchain technology. Additionally, Cleveland leaders are organizing around a new initiative to transform and enhance our regional economy through blockchain technology. This effort, known as Blockland, is focused on how to re-position Cleveland on the cutting edge of technological advancement.

    Using intellectual property to grow your business

    You've seen others do it on Shark Tank, but now learn the specifics on using intellectual property to grow and protect your own small business. Check out the types of IP and 3 specific action steps you can take in this recap of a recent COSE webinar

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from August? Let us know on Twitter!


    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: February 2018

    Month in Review: February 2018

    A shorter month doesn’t mean less good stuff from Mind Your Business. Our staff is back at it, showcasing some of our stand-out articles in February.

    What happened in Mind Your Business this month? Here are a few of our favorite things from February!

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Don’t just set it and forget it

    You spend a lot of time planning and creating your marketing efforts. Don’t have one-and-done content; instead, repurpose it. Rejuvenate your blogs, videos, testimonials, social posts, webinars and more! Check out these six ways to give new life to great content.

    Pre-Check

    What you need to know about firearms in the workplace

    It’s not a topic we like to think about, but with workplace violence and shootings on the rise, it’s crucial for business owners to outline firearm policies for their employees. In order to do so, employers must know the laws regarding employee possession of firearms. Take a look as we unpack these laws and detail potential scenarios that could trigger this type of violence.

    Get ready to roll out the red carpet

    Buyers have a lot of choices these days and they’re doing their research. Stand out in a crowd of mediocre customer service by giving your potential and current customers the red carpet treatment. Thanks to our WebEd Series on how to provide top-notch customer service, we’re bringing you two dozen ways to optimize your customer impact.

    How to hire

    Hiring is an exciting time for your business, but making sure all of your employment forms are in order can be decidedly less fun. Here are five must-have items to include in your staffing toolkit so that you’re prepared the next time your business is in hiring mode.

    Compete in an Amazon world

    Approaches to buying are evolving as technology advances. Selling tactics must adapt if companies are to remain relevant. As the rules of business continue to change, learn how to keep up. Take a look at two industry examples, as well as steps to take to ensure your selling process best fits the customer’s buying process.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from February? Let us know on Twitter!


    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: January 2018

    Month in Review: January 2018

    Each month, the Mind Your Business staff picks out their favorite articles from the past month. Enjoy the picks from January 2018!

    We kicked off the New Year with stories covering everything from ways to safeguard your intellectual property to reasons why you need to incorporate video into your marketing plans. Here we’ve highlighted our top five favorite articles from January.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Knock it out of the park with your small business

    Pre-Check

    Just like the Indians have had success against teams from bigger markets, 2018 COSE Annual Meeting attendees discovered how small businesses can compete against bigger competition. And so can you! Check out a link to the full audio and a summary of the session, featuring Indians Manager Terry Francona, Chairman and CEO Paul Dolan and legendary play-by-play announcer Tom Hamilton. 

    Don’t phone it in

    Do you come across as too casual over the phone? Are you lazy when it comes to communicating with current or prospective customers? Give your image a facelift by implementing these five super easy tips on improved phone communication.

    Lessen anxiety by increasing preparation 

    Emergency action plans may not be anyone’s favorite topic, but they are extremely necessary and helpful to preparing your workforce should an emergency arise. From establishing a preferred method of communication to posting evacuation routes throughout the premises, check out these nine expert safety tips that you can implement in your business.

    Big recognition, little money

    We all surely know by now that millennials are the key to the future for our businesses. And we also know this younger group of workers appreciates recognition for a job well done. But how can companies provide this positive feedback without breaking the bank?

    Steer clear of employee immigration issues

    Valuable employees with in-demand skills can be found in the U.S. and abroad. But when it comes to hiring outside of the country, there is a lot you need to know. Tracking Visa expiration dates and diligently completing the I-9 form are just two of the ways to reduce headaches with immigration laws concerning current or prospective employees. Before finding yourself in a hiring predicament or spending time on an ineligible candidate, be sure to review our other eight tips.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from January? Let us know on Twitter!

    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: July 2018

    Month in Review: July 2018

    From under-the-radar business challenges to a venti-sized brand identity dilemma, check out these must-read MYB articles from July.

    It’s always hard to choose but we are bringing you five of our favorite Mind Your Business articles from July. Which ones stand out to you?

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    What You Need to Know About Employee Screenings

    The hiring process can be a daunting task and finding the perfect fit for your team requires more than relying on a resume or a quick search on social media. Here are five tips to help you effectively conduct background screenings.

    Pre-Check

    Develop the Leader Inside You

    Are you an effective leader? Here are five hard questions to ask of yourself to determine what level of influence you have on those around you

    Don’t be the Next Unicorn Frappuccino

    Establishing strong brand awareness is important, and it’s crucial you aren’t infringing upon another brand’s identity. Take a look at these tips to make sure you aren’t the next Unicorn Frappuccino—read on to see what we mean.

    The Top 5 Reasons to Attend BizConCLE 2018

    From the new easy-to-get-to location at the I-X Center or the series of 10 educational workshops taking place throughout the day, here are the top five reasons why you should attend BizConCLE on Nov. 1.

    Under-the-Radar Business Challenges

    In our series spotlighting COSE’s Investor Level members, we sat down with Michael Canty from Alloy Bellows & Precision Welding. Hear what he had to say about the business challenges nobody is talking about and how he works to overcome them.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from July? Let us know on Twitter!

    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: June 2018

    Month in Review: June 2018

    From saving your company money on energy to learning tips from the pros on video production, we are highlighting some of the great pieces on the blog from June.

    Summer is in full swing and Mind Your Business was hot in June. Check out some of our favorite articles from this month.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    How to hire Gen Z

    The tricks and tactics you’ve implemented to attract and keep other generations on your team might not be as effective when it comes to Generation Z. Find out what you need to know in order to hire this new generation of workers.

    Pre-Check

    COSE’s Energy Team can save you money

    The administration at Christian Community School in Grafton recently engaged COSE/GCP’s Energy Team to perform an audit of the organization’s facility (a $5,400 value, paid for by FirstEnergy and an exclusive benefit to COSE/GCP members). You won’t believe the results (and the savings!).

    Strategies for handling suspected workplace misconduct

    In one of our hottest articles this month, we laid out specific guidelines for handling workplace misconduct. Be prepared and know how to keep the peace if this type of situation presents itself in your business.

    Video production tips from the pros

    COSE’s recent WebEd Series Webinar featured tips on creating professional-looking videos. In case you missed it, we’re recapping the webinar and you can even catch the full presentation. It’s more than just sound bites—check out these great tips from a local pro!

    Keeping your social professional

    Facebook, Twitter and other social platforms may be immediate and informal ways to communicate with constituents, but you should still be professional when representing your business. Learn how respect, patience and curiosity are all elements of ensuring your ‘social’ is still professional.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from June? Let us know on Twitter!

    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: March 2018

    Month in Review: March 2018

    From perfecting your sales pitch to protecting against data disasters, we’re bringing you some of our favorite Mind Your Business stories from March.

    Mind Your Business was stacked with stories in March. Here are some of the articles that stood out to us this month.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    A minute to win it

    Pre-Check

    Here's how to make a 60-second sales pitch that will catch the interest of everyone walking by your next trade show booth. And after you read up on these tips, mark your calendar for Nov. 1 when you can put them in action at our very own BizConCLE.

    Don't get hooked by a phishing scam

    As part of a special series with the Federal Trade Commission highlighting small business scams, here are 13 ways to keep hackers at bay and your network safe. Did you miss Part 1 of the series? Get caught up here on what you need to know about office supply scams.

    Employment contract provisions in detail

    From descriptive provisions such as scope of employment and probationary period, to protective provisions such as non-competition and work for hire, we are laying out the 13 essential employment contract provisions that you need to familiarize yourself with before making your next hiring move.

    ‘Alexa, make people click on this article.’

    Are you leveraging voice search for your small business yet? Consumer research isn’t just about typing into Google anymore. Find out more about voice search devices and how you can take advantage of this new area of the marketing world.

    Is your site HTTPS secure?

    Customers want to make sure they are visiting, buying from and entering information into a site that is as secure as possible. Enter HTTPS security. Learn the importance of HTTPS and how you can implement it on your small business website today.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from March? Let us know on Twitter!


    Grasshopper